• Disclaimer

    The Runoff Area is a website devoted to the purposes of humour and satire, not a serious motorsports news publication. When reading articles on this website - even you credulous folks over at ApexSpeed - please try to understand that they are not intended to be taken seriously. Sebastian Vettel is not a baby, I know of no plans to host a Grand Prix in South Ossetia, and Kimi Raikkonen doesn't respond to everything with a "bemused grunt." Or does he?
  • Legal Bit

    The text content of all posts from The Runoff Area are the intellectual property of Red Andy. You can share the jokes with your friends if you like, but please provide a link to the original. Images used on this website are not the property of The Runoff Area, and thus, where possible, a link is provided to the original image. If you own an image that is used on this site and would like it removed, please contact the webmaster.
  • Advertisements

FIA to extend points plan for 2010

Paris, Monday: Following the rejection of the new Formula One scoring system by the teams this weekend, the FIA have insisted that although the controversial “winner-takes-all” plan will be deferred until 2010, it will now actually be extended to promote an even more dramatic change in the way the F1 world championship is decided.

Different: The F1 World Drivers Championship

Different: The F1 World Driver's Championship

Last week the FIA World Motor Sport Council altered the scoring system – although drivers would continue to score points based on the old 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 system, the winner of the world championship would be the driver who had won the most races, regardless of how many points he had scored.

Now FIA President Max Mosley has told reporters that the system will be extended. “Not only will first place go to the driver with the most race wins,” he said outside the FIA’s headquarters today, “but second place will go to the driver who has finished second the most times. The driver who finishes third most often will get third place, and so on.”

After this system had been exhausted, with twentieth place going to the driver listed as last most often, the remaining drivers would be listed in points order. This would mean that, in 2008, Felipe Massa would have won the driver’s championship, with Nick Heidfeld second and Kimi Raikkonen third. Mark Webber would manage the significant achievement of being both seventh and eighth in the standings. Lewis Hamilton would be twenty-first.

Fernando Alonso is said to be especially excited about the move, as had the system been in place in 2005, he would have finished first, second and third in the drivers’ championship.

Explaining the new system, Mosley said: “We looked over our original proposal and decided that only having drivers fighting for the win wasn’t good enough. We want them to be fighting for all positions, all the time.”

This morning Mosley was unavailable for further comment as he was apparently “tied up elsewhere.” The Runoff Area didn’t ask.


One Response

  1. I have to say mate, I really do love your website. This one was even better than usual:D

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: